World class line up in DFMC Draw!

Some of the biggest clubs in world football will be in the hat when ex-England striker Dion Dublin makes today’s draw in Belfast for this summer’s Dale Farm Milk Cup tournament.

Joining defending champions Manchester United and Benfica in the Premier section will be CSKA Moscow and Espanyol while Rangers, holders Everton and Brazil’s Corinthians are in the Junior competition where Liverpool will also be competing plus Japan’s national squad.

A late entry in the Junior section are Chivas Guadalajara who have stepped in for Peruvian outfit Club Cantalao.

The national squads of Mexico, China and Canada will join Northern Ireland in the Elite competition with the Mexicans back to defend their title.

“It all equates to a strong line up including our friends from the Republic who have five teams over the Junior and Premier sections in addition to the County teams from Northern Ireland who continue to flourish and provide us with some outstanding performances,” says Milk Cup secretary Jim Weir.

“Last year two County teams reached finals with County Antrim taking eventual winners Everton to penalties in the Junior decider and Tyrone beaten by a late goal in the Premier final with Manchester United.”

Jim adds: “We are looking forward to welcoming the winners of a knockout competition from Chile for the second successive year. Santa Marta de Liray earned the right to come to the tournament by virtue of their success in a keenly contested mini event back home.

“It proved to be popular in its inaugural year and it was organised again with the trip to Northern Ireland a big incentive for the competing teams.”

Two Australian sides are involved this year- the Gold Coast Academy in the Premier section and Sydney Lightning in the Juniors. Sydney have produced a number of players who have competed professionally overseas and represented Australia at youth and international levels.

During the 1990s, when Sydney United 58 FC, formerly Sydney Croatia, dominated the Australian National Soccer League, the majority of first grade players had come through the club’s junior ranks. Notable players to have come through the youth and senior ranks include Mark Bosnich, the former Manchester United, Aston Villa and Chelsea goalkeeper, ex-Everton star Tim Cahill, now at the New York Red Bulls, Craig Foster (Portsmouth and Crystal Palace) and Robbie Slater – (Blackburn Rovers, West Ham United, Southampton and Wolves)

The Dale Farm Milk Cup begins with the traditional parade of competing teams through Coleraine on Sunday, July 27, concluding with finals night at Ballymena Showgrounds on Friday, August 1.

In addition to title sponsors Dale Farm, Northern Ireland’s largest dairy company, the Dale Farm Milk Cup is supported by the Councils of Coleraine, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Limavady and Derry City, with BBC Sport NI as broadcast partners.


Note for editors:
Dale Farm is part of the United Dairy Farmers Group, a UK dairy farmer co-operative owned by over 1,600 dairy farmers who supply it with fresh milk. Dale Farm has operations throughout the UK and Ireland producing and distributing a wide range of dairy products which it sells across the UK and Ireland as well as exporting to over 45 countries worldwide.



Brentford (England)
Chivas Guadalajara (Mexico)
County Antrim (Northern Ireland)
County Armagh (Northern Ireland)
County Down (Northern Ireland)
County Fermanagh (Northern Ireland)
County L’derry (Northern Ireland)
County Tyrone (Northern Ireland)
Donegal SL (Republic of Ireland)
Dundalk SL (Republic of Ireland)
Everton (England)
Global Premier Soccer (USA)
Japan FA (Japan)
Liverpool (England)
Middlesbrough (England)
Motherwell (Scotland)
North Dublin SL (Republic of Ireland)
O’Higgins FC (Chile)
Plymouth Argyle (England)
Queen of the South (Scotland)
Rangers (Scotland)
Santa Marta de Liray (Chile)
SC Corinthians (Brazil)
Sheffield United (England)
Southampton (England)
Swindon Town (England)
Sydney United (Australia)
Watford FC (England)



Benfica (Portugal)
Bohemian FC (Republic of Ireland)
Brentford (England)
Cherry Orchard (Republic of Ireland)
Chertanovo Football Academy (Russia)
Club América (Mexico)
County Antrim (Northern Ireland)
County Armagh (Northern Ireland)
County Down (Northern Ireland)
County Fermanagh (Northern Ireland)
County L’derry (Northern Ireland)
County Tyrone (Northern Ireland)
Craig Bellamy Foundation (Sierra Leone)
CSKA Moscow (Russia)
Funabashi (Japan)
Gold Coast Academy (Australia)
Lusaka Academy (Zambia)
Manchester United (England)
Newcastle United (England)
OC Blues (USA)
Otago Utd (New Zealand)
Partick Thistle (Scotland)
RCD Espanyol (Spain)
Vendee (France)



Northern Ireland