Odubeko The Hero As Manchester United Reach Globe Decider

on Friday, 28 July 2017. Posted in News, Latest News

Odhrán Crumley reports from Coleraine Showgrounds...

Odubeko The Hero As Manchester United Reach Globe Decider

An early goal from striker Ademipo Odubeko was enough to seal a place in the Globe final in place of an impressive County Armagh side.


United almost broke the deadlock after nineteen seconds Shola Shoretire squaring the ball to Ademipo Odubeko, his effort well saved by the lightning fast reactions of David Walsh in the Armagh goal.  


The County side would settle quickly into the game themselves with the pace of Josh McGovern causing real problems for his opponents. They would have their first chance in the eighth minute, a wonderful delivery Jesse Carson floating by the head of Jack Scott who came steaming in at the back post. 


Strength in the tackle was one of the most eye-catching traits of the Armagh side in the early exchanges not giving their opponents any time on the ball. One such turnover resulted in a wonderful strike from Matthew Willis forcing Ondrej Mastny to tip over the crossbar at full extension. 


The Red Devils would take the lead in the twelfth minute Ademipo Odubeko heading home with the aid of the post meeting an inviting cross from Samuel Peplow. 


Jack Scott would get his side back on track with a mazy run culminating in a shot lacking power but showing positive signs. The pressure continued Alberto Balde getting in behind the defence his effort straight at Mastny before Scott once again had an effort come close after working the space to shoot. 


Fortune would favour United as Armagh attacked once again Harry Evans dribbling through the heart of the defence finding himself clean through on goal. Evans may have seen his name up in lights as the effort tailed to the left and wide, a huge let off. 


Although it was the Orchard men doing all the attacking, Man Utd were very dangerous on the counter attack. One such move saw a winger fouled and a penalty awarded. With twenty five minutes on the clock Ademipo Odubeko stepped up hoping to double his side’s advantage.


Once again David Walsh was more than up for the task rising high to push Odubeko’s effort around the post to safety. Momentum was with the county men Harry Evans’ rasping effort coming oh so close to levelling the match. Walsh was called into action in the final play of the half using his feet to deny Anthony Elanga who was in one on one. 




Early in the second period Armagh would pick up where they left off, on the front foot. Harry Evans again coming close from range with an effort that seemed destined for the top corner until the outstretched hand of Mastny denied a world class goal. 


Odubeko would be involved yet again using his pace and strength taking on several men before pulling the ball to Shola Shoretire his low effort matched by another incredible David Walsh save. 


From the fortieth to forty fifth minute of the game United would control the game with all of the play happening inside their opponents half. This would prove to be their final period of dominance as Armagh pushed for the equaliser. 


Jack Scott was a central figure to those attacks heading down for Adam Wright his effort was too hot to handle meaning Mastny would have to tip it over the bar. 


Alberto Balde was still full of running in the last five minutes his energy at this late stage combined with pace and power would cause the English side’s defence real problems. One particular run opening the defence before touching around the keeper that touch marginally to heavy rolling out at the wrong side of the post. 


The Orchard Counties persistent pressure throughout the six additional minutes proved to be in vein as United held on for a hard fought victory. 






Manchester United:  Ondrej Mastny, Iestyn Hughes, Samuel Peplow, Teden Mengi, Hayden Smethurst, Ademipo Odubeko, Shola Shoretire, Charlie Wellens, Benjamin Woods.


Co.Armagh: David Walsh, Jesse Carson, Dane McCullough, Caolan Connell, Shea Conway, Chris Hutchinson, Jack Scott, Harry Evans, Matthew Willis, Alberto Balde, John McGovern.


Credit, Odhrán Crumley @odhranc14